If you’ve been charged with a hit and run offense, the fear of “what could happen” can be paralyzing. We provide every caller and every client with the personal attention they need to feel secure. If you’ve got questions, our hit and run lawyers are here to help with a free consultation.
“Hit and run” is the generic name given to a driver’s failure to do everything the law requires after being involved in a traffic accident that causes an injury, death, or property damage. The crime is usually charged when a driver leaves the scene of an accident without stopping, but it can also be charged when a driver fails to discharge any other duty imposed by California law. The severity of the offense depends upon the nature of the accident.
Hit and run is a serious crime. In addition to other punishments, a conviction may affect your driving privileges and insurance rates. Randy Collins is ready to put his years of experience to work on your behalf if you are charged with a California hit and run. To make an appointment to discuss your case, call us at (888) 250-2865.
Whenever you drive on public roads in California (and even, in some cases, on private property), you are subject to California’s Vehicle Code. Sections 20001 to 20008 of the Vehicle Code impose certain duties upon drivers who were involved in an accident.
If you were involved in an accident that caused property damage (other than your own property), you must:
If you were involved in an accident that caused injury or death to someone else, you must:
Rendering reasonable assistance means transporting, or arranging for the injured person to be transported, to a doctor or hospital if:
Unless the injuries are clearly minor, it is generally safer to call an ambulance than to transport an injury victim yourself. You do not want to risk causing further injury by moving an accident victim who may have suffered a serious injury.
“Hit and run” does not necessarily require leaving the scene of the accident, although that is the conduct that most often leads to an arrest. The failure to comply with any of the requirements listed above can be charged as a crime, even if you remained at the scene. For example, if you stopped after the accident but refused to identify yourself or gave a false name to the other driver, you could be charged with a hit and run offense.
Most hit and run offenses involve collisions, but any driving that contributes to an accident triggers the duties described above. For instance, if you swerved into another driver’s lane, running that driver off the road and into a lamppost, you have a duty to stop and take the other actions described above.
If the accident involved property damage but no injury, a driver’s failure to comply with all of the required actions is a misdemeanor. Section 20002 of the California Vehicle Code sets a maximum jail term of 6 months and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Hit and run misdemeanors usually involve collisions with another vehicle (including parked cars), but causing damage to any object while driving triggers the duties described above. For example, it would be a crime to drive through a fence or to knock down a mailbox without trying to notify the property owner and reporting the accident. Damaging government property (such as a street sign) imposes the same duty to notify the government of the damage.
If the accident involved injury or death, hit and run is a wobbler. That means the prosecutor can charge it as a misdemeanor or a felony. If it is charged as a felony and the injury was not serious, section 20001 provides for a maximum prison sentence of 3 years and a maximum fine of $10,000. If death or serious injury resulted, the maximum prison sentence increases to 4 years.
A number of defenses can be raised to a hit and run charge, including:
Other defenses may also be available, depending on the unique facts of your case. To learn about the defenses that can be raised in your specific case, speak with an experienced lawyer.
If you are concerned about what will happen to you following your hit and run charge, we’re here to help. Attorney Randy Collins works with every client that retains our firm and provides free case evaluations. His experience as a former prosecutor and top rated record can help you through this troubled time. To make an appointment with a hit and run defense lawyer at our Santa Ana, Fullerton, Newport Beach, or Riverside location, call us at (888) 250-2865. We’ll provide you with a free consultation and help you better understand your options.
Call us at (888) 888-250-2865 or submit the following form to find out what options you have to defend your case. All submissions are confidential and reviews will be provided by a Law Offices of Randy Collins defense attorney.