Being wrongly accused of a burglary in Orange County can ruin the life of the defendant: jail time, fines and long-term consequences of having a criminal record can all result from a false charge. A qualified attorney can help you defeat a false burglary charge and prevent the stress, financial burden and jail time associated with a conviction.
In California, burglary is defined and prohibited under California Penal Code 459. Burglary is when a person enters a dwelling or other structure with the intent to commit a crime. There are two types of burglary:
Generally, first degree burglary occurs in a residence and is a felony punishable by two, four or six years in a state prison, up to $10,000 in fines and the defendant is not eligible for probation. Second degree burglary occurs in any structure other than a residence and can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. If second degree burglary is charged as a felony, generally the defendant will be sentenced to sixteen months, two or three years in state prison and up to $10,000 in fines; if charged as a misdemeanor, the crime is punishable by up to one year in county jail and a maximum of $1,000 in fines. The punishments for both types can be increased or decreased with the existence of certain elements such as whether a person was injured during the attempt or whether a weapon was used.
There are several defenses that a burglary attorney can use in order to help you defeat a false burglary charge. These include:
An Orange County burglary attorney may argue that at the time when you entered the building or structure you lacked the intent to commit a crime. It can also be argued that you are not guilty of burglary because either you owned the item you took or you had consent from the owner to take possession of the item. Your attorney may also present the defense that you are not guilty of the crime because you are factually innocent either because it was a case of mistaken identity, someone is falsely accusing you for their own reasons or because of misleading evidence such as your fingerprints being at the scene of the crime when you were there for an unrelated reason. Finally, you may not be guilty of the crime because of police misconduct, such as planting evidence or violating your Fourth Amendment right against unreasonable search and seizure.
If you have been falsely accused of either first or second degree burglary in Orange County, hiring an attorney can help you avoid jail time, fines and the long-term repercussions of having a criminal record.
Those charged with burglary face extreme penalties; those convicted of this crime are often ordered to serve significant jail and/or prison time and are left with a felony on their criminal record. The Law Offices of Randy Collins defends those faced with these offenses and provides all Orange County defendants with free case evaluations. Call (888) 250-2865 today to obtain your free consultation and find out how our attorneys can help.
Call us at (888) 888-250-2865 or submit the following form to find out what options you have to defend your case. All submissions are confidential and reviews will be provided by a Law Offices of Randy Collins defense attorney.